Russell Brand strikes again.

So I Watched another Russell Brand video a couple of minutes ago, but let me first put out my disclaimer. I am a 23 year Navy combat veteran(land combat not ship), conservative, married, oh and I give two craps about your personal choices which have no affect or effect on my family or myself. That said, I try to teach my kids to love all equally, until individually they prove not worthy.

So Russell meets the westboro baptist church

When I first left active duty I worked a day in my state capital, Topeka, Kansas, at the VA hospital, in surgery. Yes THE Topeka Kansas, home of the wbc (not spelling it out, don’t want it popping more than necessary in a search); Anyways its 0630, I’m driving to work, and I see a kid, about 10, holding up a giant sign which read “God hates F&*)” !!? I almost ran over two Sonic carhops, and their drive through menu, turning red around to make sure I actually saw what I thought I saw. That is when I saw the other sign about soldiers. I drove to work, mad, and asked the staff, what was up with those signs, why were they protesting, and they said “oh, that’s just fred (Phelps) and his crazy family, they do it all the time” I was floored that such a serious defamation of the American Soldier had turned into pretty much the longest running joke in Kansas, well next Kansas State University thinking they have a basketball team.

Legend even told me once that when she was attending a Tori Amos concert at The University of Kansas, that Fred and his crazy family were protesting the concert, it’s Tori Amos, c’mon! Lilith fair sisters unite!!  For those not from Kansas, Fred Phelps is pretty much considered a joke, hasn’t been seen outside his “compound” in years, the protesters are 3,4, and 5th generation family members that don’t even know why they are protesting. I can say though, if I lose another brother in battle and they are at the funeral, I’m not to sure I could let crazys be crazy. In my opinion their leaders are automatons who take a literal translation of the words of the bible to a whole new level. I also don’t believe they are much more than over zealous homophobs which probably didn’t make the pee-wee football team, but again what do I care. Russel Brand does a pretty good job of letting them explain their views, and trying to let them see the other side of a loving god, but again loving or not, he sent locust, and frogs…

Leave a Reply

